Uncategorized

1978 Catalina 22

00z0z_a5uBz1X92JA_600x450

Normally, I wouldn’t look twice at a Catalina 22. The little buggers are ubiquitous on the inland lakes where I grew up, but for the bay I want a real boat. Until that is, I saw the ad for this fin keel Catalina. I’ve long been a fan of Catalina as a brand, having sailed a 42 for about five years and owning a 30 for a year. Now that I’m boatless, I’d seriously consider one for my current situation if I didn’t have so many friends with boats! One wants a trailer with a Catalina 22 and this one looks like she has a nice trailer. She’ll be more of a pain to load up than a swing keel boat, but the increased performance will be well worth it if you leave the boat in the water during the season. See the craigslist ad here.

00F0F_lQHyhqedG1F_600x450

The decks don’t look that great, but on such a small boat it would be a relatively small job to get those in good shape. There’s massive support on line for these boats, and it looks like a lot of the hard work is already done on this boat.

Standard

Leave a comment